The Meaning of Life (abridged version)

This little logicism is likely to either delight or offend. It’s possible for some of you, it will accomplish both. I did not write this, though I wish I had. But as a big believer in identifying the source of any material on my blog that is not my own, I can tell you with confidence my source was “a video I saw on Instagram.” Hopefully that will satisfy the academics among you.

When God wanted to create fish, He spoke to the sea.

When God wanted to create trees, He spoke to the earth.

But when God created us, He spoke to Himself.

What happens when you remove a fish from the sea?

It dies.

What happens when you remove a tree out of the soil?

It dies.

What happens when we are disconnected from God?

We die.

God is our natural environment.

We were created to live, to thrive, in the presence of God.

Life, real life, eternal life, is found only in Him. 

Yes! Crazy simplistic and childish even. But then most illustrations that set out to explain complex concepts often are.  As I point out in another post, just because an answer is simplistic is not, by itself, sufficient reason to dismiss it as credible any more than it is to give greater credence to an answer because of its complexity.

1 Comment

Leave a comment